Election Results Live Updates: AAP Takes Massive Lead In Delhi

Trending Stories


Election Results Live Updates: AAP Takes Massive Lead In Delhi

Election Results 2020: Counting of votes will begin at 8 am.

New Delhi:

Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which is eyeing for a third term in power in Delhi, has taken a massive lead as counting of votes for the 70-member assembly began at 8 am. The BJP, which had taken early lead minutes after counting of votes began, is leading in 15 seats, early trends show.

Although exit polls have predicted another term for Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party, the BJP, which powered its campaign on the anti-Citizenship (Amendment) Act protests at Shaheen Bagh, is likely to put up a good show.

The campaign for the Delhi Election 2020 has been bitter and polarised, the political discourse bogged down by threatening slogans and foul language.

The ruling AAP has sought to retain power on the work done in the field of education, health, and in providing cheap electricity and water, while the main opposition BJP conducted a massive campaign, roping in most of its 70 union ministers, 270 MPs and leaders and Chief Ministers from various states, to deliver it’s campaign message on anti-CAA protests and nationalism.

Delhi election 2020 was held on Saturday, with 62.59 per cent of the city’s voters coming out to exercise their democratic right. The voter turnout in the previous assembly election in 2015 stood at 67.5 per cent.

Exit polls released after the conclusion of voting predicted as many as 56 of the 70 assembly seats for AAP, leaving 14 for the BJP and zero for the Congress.

Health warning: Exit polls usually get it wrong.

Here are the live updates on Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020

Delhi Election Results: AAP leads Mangol Puri, BJP ahead in Mundka
AAP leads Mangol Puri in outer Delhi. The Arvind Kejriwal-led party is also ahead in Jangpura and Kalkaji. 

The BJP gains in Mundka. 

Election 2020: Raghav Chadha is leading in Rajender Nagar

Raghav Chadha, a chartered accountant, in contesting in Rajinder Nagar. Mr Chadha is pitted against BJP veteran RP Singh, a 58-year-old advertising professional from the same neighbourhood, and Congress’s Rocky Tuseed, the youngest candidate in the February 8 election.

Mr Chadha sought votes as “Rajinder Nagar Ka Beta”. “The fight is between AAP and BJP. Congress is non-existent and BJP is far behind us,” he said. “From Pandav Nagar to Karol Bagh, these are the areas where I have lived all my life. I have been given an opportunity to make my birthplace my workplace,” he said.

BJP takes early lead as counting begins in Delhi. AAP leading in three seats.

Delhi Elections: Exit polls will fail, results will be in BJP’s favour, says Manoj Tiwari

With counting of votes just minutes away, Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari said that he was confident that the BJP will form the government in Delhi with 48 seats in the 70-member assembly.

“I am confident that it will be a good day for BJP. We are coming to power in Delhi today. Don’t be surprised if we win 55 seats,” Delhi BJP president Tiwari said.

When asked about the exit polls that show AAP gaining a majority, he said, “These exit polls are going to fail.”

Delhi Election: “Won’t Be Surprised If Arvind Kejriwal lose election”, Says Kapil Mishra

BJP candidate Kapil Mishra on Monday hit out at Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, saying he could lose election from the New Delhi constituency.

“The people’s mandate is with the BJP. We know the reality as we have worked on the ground. I must say, there is nothing to be surprised if Kejriwal gets defeated from the New Delhi constituency,” he said.

Kapil Mishra was a minister in Arvind Kejriwal’s cabinet. After he fell out with him, he joined the BJP.

The campaign for the Delhi Election 2020 has been bitter and polarised, the political discourse bogged down by threatening slogans and foul language.

Election Results: Congress hopes to emerge as the dark horse in Delhi

The Congress is hopeful of springing a surprise in the national capital even though the exit polls say otherwise. 

The party has not been able to match the high octane campaign of the BJP and the “Bijli Paani” narrative of the Aam Aadmi Party, and ran its campaign on development works carried out under late Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit from December 1998 to December 2013.

Election Results 2020: When, Where and How to Watch Counting of Votes

You can watch Delhi election results live on NDTV 24×7 or ndtv.com/live to track the fastest and the most accurate developments. Special coverage of the Delhi assembly elections 2020 will start at 7 am on Tuesday on NDTV.

You can visit ndtv.com for the latest constituency-wise results, track prominent contestants and follow live updates from the newsroom. The ndtv.com website will feature cutting-edge graphics and detailed insight into the results. From present vote share to past results readers will be able to find the complete lowdown on ndtv.com.

Delhi Election Results: A new poster outside AAP headquarters in Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party’s centred its campaign around the pro-people initiatives taken up in the national capital such as the slashing of electricity rates, installation of CCTV cameras and free bus rides for women. 

Election Results 2020: Exit polls have predicted another term for Arvind Kejriwal

Exit polls have predicted the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP winning as many as 56 of the 70 assembly seats in the national capital, leaving 14 for the BJP and zero for the Congress.

Delhi Elections: Only 62 per cent voting in Delhi

Only 62 per cent of the over 1.47 crore Delhi voters exercised their democratic right.

Delhi election results: Can Arvind Kejriwal repeat his 2015 feat?

The Delhi assembly election 2020 was seen as a direct contest between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP, which is in power at the centre.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *